Skip to content

The optimism of WordPress

30 December 2014

Like every other blogger who uses WordPress, I received a curious annual report for this blog this morning, too late for inclusion in my previous post. But I can’t resist sharing it with you, in the same spirit as children compare their gifts. Inevitably disappointment, envy and a sense of unfairness are not far away. And the Christmas cracker formula starts to unravel when you see how other bloggers were encouraged. Thanks to Adam Wagner’s excellent UK Human Rights Blog (which has literally 100 times as many visitors as I get), I have another example. This is the patter he got:

The Louvre Museum has 8.5 million visitors per year. This blog was viewed about 890,000 times in 2014. If it were an exhibit at the Louvrex Museum, it would take about 38 days for that many people to see it.

Here’s what I was told:

The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 8,300 times in 2014. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 3 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Now I suspect there are lots of items in the Louvre that are not looked at all by any visitor for far longer than 38 days, while my guess is that almost all of the the audiences at those three sold-out performances will at least have paid a great deal of attention to what they saw. (Although, come to think of it, the last time I was at the Sydney Opera House, I was treated to Fra Diavolo, which I confess did not retain my attention throughout.) So numbers aren’t everything…

Click here to see the complete report.

From → Finance

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

